Upstairs Downstairs [videorecording]

  Chris  Review by:  Chris

Title:  Upstairs downstairs [videorecording]

Starring:  Eileen Atkins, Keeley Hawes, Jean Marsh,  Ed Stoppard

Collection:  Movies

It’s been awhile since I’ve seen the original 1970’s British television series that spawned this particular BBC production, and I admit that many of the original’s plots are mixed up in my head with other British movies and television shows that I’ve seen before and since.  However, I do remember that I liked the series, as did many others.  It has almost a cult following, in fact, and I initially passed over this three-part miniseries because I thought it was a remake of the original.  As it turns out, I was wrong.  This is not a remake but a sort of sequel.  Set in the 1930’s, the same period as The King’s Speech, this Upstairs, Downstairs still follows the lives of an aristocratic British family and their servants, and the detail of the sets and costumes is wonderful.  But the family is an entirely new one with a whole cast of new and interesting characters on both sides of the stairs.  Only one character returns from the original series, and her presence serves as a nice link between the two.  With well-written plotlines and interesting historical events to portray, the series totally engrossed me, and I watched all three episodes in one night.

Leave a Reply

