Lark Rise to Candleford. The complete season one [videorecording]

   Chris  Review by:  Chris

Title:  Lark Rise to Candleford. The complete season one [videorecording]

Starring:  Olivia Hallinan, Dawn French, Julia Sawalha, Liz Smith, Brendan Coyle, Claudie Blakley, Mark Heap, Ben Miles, Olivia Grant, Linda Bassett, Karl Johnson

Collection:  Movies

Knowing my love for British televisions series, a friend recommended this one a few months back, but I forgot about it until I saw it on the shelf at the South Cumberland Library.  I watched the first two episodes with the feeling that the series had potential, but I didn’t love it right off.  It is based on a book of the same name (also available from the Allegany County Library System) by Flora Thompson and contains her memories of Lark Rise, the Oxfordshire hamlet she grew up in, the neighboring market village of Candleford, and the people who inhabited both when she was a young women in the 1890s.  As I became more engrossed in the series, and perhaps as the series itself matured, I found myself thinking of the characters as real people that I had come to know and care about.  I quickly watched the second season and am anxiously awaiting the third.  With four seasons in all, I am sure to enjoy the company of my new friends for at least awhile yet.

Leave a Reply

