Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970

  Digital Sanborn Maps

What is so interesting about fire insurance maps from the late 19th and early 20th Centuries?  Plenty!  Digital Sanborn Maps for Maryland show us how our cities and towns have developed. What buildings were there at the time?  How was a building used?  When was a road realigned?  Since at least two maps from different points in time are normally available for each place, it’s possible to see how a community has changed over the years.  For homeowners, these maps offer the possibility of learning when an addition was put on, another story added, log changed to brick, or a stable replaced with a storage shed – all of interest to those who wish to learn the history of their home. For beginning genealogists, the maps offer a glimpse into the lives of earlier generations and the world that they experienced. Maps for seventeen cities and towns across Western Maryland are included: Allegany County (Barton, Cumberland, Frostburg, Lonaconing, Midland, Mount Savage, & Westernport), Garrett County (Grantsville, Kitzmiller, & Oakland) and Washington County (Boonsboro, Clear Spring, Hagerstown, Hancock, Sharpsburg, Smithsburg, & Williamsport).

This service is provided by the Western Maryland Regional Library to the public libraries of Allegany, Garrett, and Washington County.  Find this and many other valuable online resources at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: